Show Navigation
Hide Navigation

Samut Songkhram

Samut Songkhram

Samut Songkhram is one of the central provinces (changwat) of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are (from the south clockwise) Phetchaburi, Ratchaburi and Samut Sakhon

Samut Songkhram is one of the central provinces (changwat) of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are (from the south clockwise) Phetchaburi, Ratchaburi and Samut Sakhon. Local people call Samut Songkhram Mae Klong. The province is the smallest in area of all Thai provinces. Chang and Eng Bunker, the famous Siamese twins were born here on 11 May 1811.

Toponymy The word "samut" originates from the Sanskrit word समुद्र samudra meaning 'ocean', and the word "songkhram" from Sanskrit सङ्ग्राम saṅgrāmḥa meaning 'war'. Hence the name of the province literally means 'war ocean'. However, this province is colloquially known as "Mae Klong" after the name of the main river that flows past the area.

Geography Samut Songkhram is at the mouth of the Mae Klong River to the Bay of Bangkok (upper Gulf of Thailand). With several canals (khlong) the water of the river is spread through the province for irrigation. At the coast are many lakes for producing sea salt. The sandbar Don Hoi Lot at the mouth of the river is famous for its endemic shell population of Solen regularis. It covers a total area of 416.7 km2 (about 160.9 sq mi). It can be considered the smallest province in Thailand. This province is home to places of worship of the three major religions. There are 110 Buddhist temples, two Christian churches and one mosque.

History In the Ayutthaya period the area of Samut Songkhram was known as "suan nok" (Thai สวนนอก, 'outer garden') and was administered by Ratchaburi. During the reign of King Taksin it was made a province. It was the birthplace of Queen Amarindra of King Rama I. The birthplace of King Rama II in Amphawa District is now a memorial park.

Symbols The provincial seal shows a drum over a river. The Thai word for drum is klong, thus refers to the Mae Klong River, as well as the old name of the province, Mae Klong. On both sides of the river coconut trees are displayed as one of the main products of the province. 

The provincial tree is Casuarina equisetifolia. The provincial slogan is "City of Hoi Lot, Top Lychee, King Rama II Memorial Park, the Mae Klong River, and Luangpho Ban Laem".

Provincial government The province is divided into three districts (amphoe). The districts are further divided into 38 subdistricts (tambons) and 284 villages (mubans). There is one town (thesaban mueang) and three townships (thesaban tambons).

  • Mueang Samut Songkhram
  • Bang Khonthi
  • Amphawa

Local government As of 26 November 2019 there are: one Samut Songkhram Provincial Administration Organisation (ongkan borihan suan changwat) and 9 municipal (thesaban) areas in the province. Samut Songkhram has town (thesaban mueang) status. Further 8 subdistrict municipalities (thesaban tambon). The non-municipal areas are administered by 26 Subdistrict Administrative Organisations - SAO (ongkan borihan suan tambon).[3]

See Details...

Cr. ข้อมูลจากการท่องเที่ยวแห่งประเทศไทย

*** Remarks : Give us your feedback - Where to Go & What to Do in Thailand

© 2021
All Rights Reserved.