TRIPTHIGOAL
Show Navigation
Hide Navigation

SI SA KET

SI SA KET

Si Sa Ket, in lower Northeast region, located next to Cambodia. With long history, Si Sa Ket once had prosperous culture since Khmer era over thousands years ago. 


Si Sa Ket, in lower Northeast region, located

next to Cambodia. With long history, Si Sa Ket

once had prosperous culture since Khmer era

over thousands years ago. Moreover, there are

many ethnic tribes such as Suai, Lao, Khmer,

and Yoe settled down here. Old town Si Sa

Ket, formerly known as Mueang Khukhan, was

located at Ban Prasat Si Liam Dong Lamduan,

in present Tambon Duan Yai, Amphoe Wang

Hin. It become a town in 1759, during Ayutthaya

period. In the reign of King Rama V, or a round

a century ago, the town has been moved to the

present location.

It is also gateway to visit Cambodia. The

province has plenty of fruit, such as rambutan

and durian, which are available at the beginning

of rainy season.


Sakon Nakhon

Thai Term Glossary

Amphoe : District

Ban : Village

Khuean : Dam

Maenam : River

Mueang : Town or City

Prang : Corn-shaped tower or

sanctuary

SAO : Subdistrict Administrative

Organization

Soi : Alley

Song Thaeo : Pick-up trucks but with a roof

over the back

Talat : Market

Tambon : Subdistrict

Tham : Cave

Tuk-Tuks : Three-wheeled motorized

taxis

Ubosot or Bot : Ordination hall in a temple

Wihan : Image hall in a temple

Wat : Temple

Note: English spelling here given tries to

approximate Thai Pronunciation. Posted signs

may be spelled differently. When seeking help

for direction, point to the Thai spelling given

after each place name.

Sakon Nakhon is a Buddhist town with five

Buddhist stupas. Its history can be dated back

for three thousand years. Legend says that

Nong Han town, or presently Sakon Nakhon,

was built in 11th century when Khmer ruled

this region. When the Khmer lost its power, the

town was under the rules of Lanxang or Laotian

Kingdom. It was renamed into “Mueang Chiang

Mai Nongharn”. When the town was under

Siamese Kingdom, it was renamed again into

“Sakon Thawapi”. In 1830, during the reign of

King Rama III, it was named “Sakon Nakhon”.

Sakon Nakhon Province is 647 kilometres from

Bangkok. It acquires total area of 9,605 sq.

kilometres. and has 18 Amphoes including

Amphoe Mueang Sakon Nakhon, Amphoe

Phanna Nikhom, Amphoe Phang Khon, Amphoe

Sawang Daen Din, Amphoe Charoen Sin,

Amphoe Ban Muang, Amphoe Kham Ta Kla,

Amphoe Wanon Niwat, Amphoe Akat Amnuai,

Amphoe Kusuman, Amphoe Phon Na Kaeo,

Amphoe Khok Si Suphan, Amphoe Tao Ngoi,

Amphoe Phu Phan, Amphoe Kut Bak, Amphoe

Nikhom Nam Un, Amphoe Waritchaphum and

Amphoe Song Dao.

Distances from Sakon Nakhon to nearby

provinces

Nakhon Phanom 93 kilometres

Mukdahan 119 kilometres

Kalasin 128 kilometres

Udon Thani 159 kilometres

Distances from Amphoe Mueang Sakon

Nakhon to other districts

Amphoe Phanna Nikhom 39 kilometres

Amphoe Phang Khon 54 kilometres

Amphoe Sawang Daen Din 84 kilometres

Amphoe Charoen Sin 90 kilometres

Amphoe Ban Muang 120 kilometres

Amphoe Kham Ta Kla 109 kilometres

Amphoe Wanon Niwat 85 kilometres

Amphoe Akat Amnuai 57 kilometres

Amphoe Kusuman 40 kilometres

Amphoe Phon Na Kaeo 35 kilometres

Amphoe Khok Si Suphan 22 kilometres

Amphoe Tao Ngoi 28 kilometres

Amphoe Phu Phan 33 kilometres

Amphoe Kut Bak 56 kilometres

Amphoe Nikhom Nam Un 99 kilometres

Amphoe Waritchaphum 69 kilometres

Amphoe Song Dao 109 kilometres

HOW TO GET THERE

By Car: From Bangkok, takes Highway No.1

(Pahonyothin Road) to Saraburi and turn

right into Highway No.2 (Mittraphap Road) at

Saraburi, drive through Nakhon Ratchasima,

Amphoe Ban Phai of Khon Kaen. Then turn

right to Highway No.23 via Maha Sarakham and

Kalasin, then use Highway No.213 to Sakon

Nakhon. The total distance is around 647

kilometres.

By Bus: From the Northern Bus Terminal

Chatuchak (Kamphaeng Phet II Road) in

Bangkok. There are many bus to Sakon Nakhon

everyday. For more information contact:

- The Transport Co., Ltd. Tel. 1490, 0 2936

2852-66, Sakon Nakhon Branch Tel. 0 4271 2860,

09 3315 4483 website : www.transport.co.th

- Nakhon Chai Air Co., Ltd. Tel. 1624, website : www.nca.co.th

For more information contact Sakon Nakhon

Bus Station Tel. 0 4271 4945

By Train: State Railway of Thailand operates

daily train service from Bangkok to Udon Thani,

where tourist can catch routine bus to Sakon

Nakhon, 159 kilometres away. For more

information, Tel. 1690, 0 2220 4334, 0 2220

4261. Udon Thani Station Tel. 0 4222 2061,

website : www.railway.co.th

By Air: There are two airlines operating flights

from Donmueang International Airport in

Bangkok to Sakon Nakhon Airport, as follows:

- Nok Air Tel. 1318, 0 2900 9955, website

: www.nokair.com

- Thai Air Asia Tel. 0 2515 9999, website :

www.airasia.com

Transportation in Sakon Nakhon

There are Song Thaeos, motor tricycle, and

pedal tricycle plying the provincial town of

Sakon Nakhon. They are available at many

places; such as, the Sakon Nakhon Municipal

Market, Sakon Nakhon Hospital, and the Sakon

Nakhon Bus Terminal 2.

To travel from Amphoe Mueang Sakon Nakhon

to other districts, there are Song Thaeos,

6-wheelers, and buses available from the Sakon

Nakhon Municipal Market and Sakon Nakhon

Bus Terminal 2.

Transportation from Sakon Nakhon to

nearby provinces

From the Sakon Nakhon Bus Terminal 2, there

are air-conditioned and non-air-conditioned

bus services to nearby provinces including

Udon Thani, Nakhon Phanom, Khon Kaen,

Kalasin, Bueng Kan, etc. For more information,

Tel. 0 4271 4945.

ATTRACTIONS

Amphoe Mueang Sakon Nakhon

Phra That Choeng Chum (พระธาตุเชิงชุม)

Situated in Wat Phra That Choeng Chum

Worawihan, rectangular stupa is 24 metres

high and decorated with 3.75 kilograms golden

umbrella. The stupa, or Phra That, has four

doors put inside is fill with stone. It is

built to cover footprints of four Buddhas

namely Phra Kakusantha, Phra Konakhom,

Phra Katsapa, and Phra Khodom or Phra Si

Ariyametrai (The present Lord Buddha) Its

history is unclear, however, Phra That is considered

sacred icon for Sakon Nakhon. Next to the Phra

That is the chapel that houses Luang Po Ong

Saen, a sacred Buddha statue of the province.

On Wan Phra or Buddhist Day, lots of Buddhist

always pay homage to the Buddha image at

night. The temple holds annual celebration

between the 9th and 15th date of waxing moon

of January.

Nong Han (หนองหาร)

The huge and famous lake of Thailand acquires

total area of 123 sq. kilometres. It is fed by

many streams before supplying to Kam Stream,

tributary of Mekong that runs into the big river

at Amphoe That Phanom, Nakhon Phanom

Province. At the depth between 3-8 metres,

the lake facilitates agriculture, livestock farming

and fishery of the people around it. There are

more than 20 islets in the lake such as Ko Don

Sawan, the biggest islet where deserted temple

and ancient Buddha images are located. Lush

forest on the islet makes it habitat for many

birds. There are pavilions of Ko Kaeo and Ko Don

Sakham where tourist can take a break. Ko Don

Sathung is surrounded with golden freshwater

weed which glows under sunshine.

Somdet Phra Srinagarindra Park (สวน

สมเด็จพระศรีนครินทร์)

Located next to Nong Han, in Tambon That

Choeng Chum. M other Princess, Phra

Srinagarindra, has presided over the opening

ceremony on November 9, 1987. The park’s

compound include an ancient pond, called

Sa Phang Thong, which was built in the same

period as Phra That Choeng Chum. The park

comprises beautiful flower and tree, jungle

area, water park, rock garden, excercising area

and 69 metres high fountain. The park is open

for public use in botanical study. It is open

between 04.00 a.m. – 09.00 p.m.

Later, the Park was expanded to cover more area

of approximately 20 rai, which was also turned

into a public park to serve the same purpose as

the main Park and sponsored by the people of

Sakon Nakhon. The extended park was named

Somdet Chaofa Galyani Vadhana Park (known in

common as Suan Mae–Suan Luk) to celebrate

the occasion of the 84th birthday anniversary of

the Princess of Naradhiwas on 6 May, 2007. The

Park is open daily from 04.00 a.m. – 09.00 p.m.

Phu Phan Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์ภูพาน)

Located behind the Sakon Nakhon Kindergarten,

on Udon Thani - Sakon Nakhon Road, Tambon

That Choeng Chum, displays the historical

background, way of life, and local culture of

Sakon Nakhon. Inside the building are divided

into different rooms, which are the overture

room, the exhibition of “Amazing Phu Phan”,

Isan seasonal flooded forest and swamp forest,

Nong Han and the settlement of Sakon Nakhon

town, room of Sakon Nakhon people, praising

 the King and the Queen room, exhibition

room honouring Their Majesties the King and

Queen, Land of Dhamma room, and outdoor

sculpture. The Museum opens from Tuesday

- Sunday between 09.00 a.m. – 05.00 p.m. For

more information, please call Tel. 0 4271 4853.

Freshwater Aquarium (สถานแสดงพันธุ์ปลาน้ำจืด)

Located on Sai Sawang Road, Tambon That

Choeng Chum inside the Inland Fisheries

Research and Development Centre, established

with the purposes of the fish breeds production

and conservation in the Nong Han area, and

promotion of aquatic animals breeding in

the provinces of the Northeast region. The

Aquarium displays and gives knowledge about

various breeds of fish that were discovered;

such as, Albino, Mekong giant catfish, tilapia,

Siamese tiger fish, Clown knife fish, Great

snakehead, and Mrigal, etc. Interested persons

can visit from Monday - Friday between 08.30

a.m. - 04.30 p.m. For more information, please

call Tel. 0 4271 1447.

Sakon Nakhon Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์เมือง

สกลนคร)

Situated at Building 1 in the Sakon Nakhon

Rajabhat University, Nittayo Road, Tambon

That Choeng Chum, features belongings, and

utensils of several ethnic groups including

historical photographs, and art and cultural

background documents. Open between 08.30

a.m. - 04.30 p.m. For a group visit, please write

in advance to the Director of the Arts, Culture

and Languages Centre, Sakon Nakhon Rajabhat

University. For more information, please call

Tel. 0 4274 4009.

The museum of Achan Man Purithattha

Thera (พิพิธภัณฑ์บริขารอาจารย์มั่น ภูริทัตตเถระ)

Located in Wat Pa Suthawat, opposite to City

Hall. The museum house bronze statue of Achan

Man Purithatto in meditation posture and the

glass box that houses his ash that turns into

crystal. The display, including his tools, is placed

in marble altar and his history is shown nearby.

Achan Man Purithatto is a famous Buddhist

monk. Born in Kaenkaeo family, in Amphoe

Khong Chiam, Ubon Ratchathani, he was

a novice when he was 15 and entered monkhood

at 22 at Wat Leap, Ubon Ratchathani. Achan

Man always practice meditation on the trip to

remote area and he had many followers such as

Luang Pu Fan Acharo, Luang Pu Khao Alanayo,

Luang Pu Waen Suchino. Achan Man moved to

stay at Wat Pa Suthawat and passed away on

November 11, 1949.

Furthermore, the Museum of Luang Pu Lui is

located also in the temple’s compound. The

museum is built to house ashes of Luang Pu Lui

(1901-1989). This famous monk in Wipatsana

is follower of Achan Man. He loved to travel

around until his last day in his life. His Majesty

the King Bhumibol Adulyadej (Rama IX)

presided over his funeral and mentioned

“a pagoda to house his ashes should be built in

Wat Pa Suthawat, where the pagoda housing

ashes of Achan Man is located. For they can stay

close together.” His Majesty the King Bhumibol

Adulyadej (Rama IX) has designed the pagoda.

Lotus Memorial Park (อุทยานบัวเฉลิมพระเกียรติ)

Located inside Kasetsart University, Chalermphrakiat Sakon Nakhon Province Campus. In

addition to serving as a source of knowledge

and recreational place for university students

and the general public, the Lotus Memorial

Park features a large lotus swamp located right

at the entrance with a network of red wooden

boardwalks to allow visitors to walk around

the swamp and has a pavilion in the middle

for relaxation.

There are 3 zones inside the Park; namely,

1. Collection Zone featuring a collection

of lotus varieties in the form of a 10-rai lotus

pond with 34 native as well as foreign varieties

of water lilies; such as, the Royal water lily or

Bua Kradong, Bua Sai, Bua Phan-Bua Phuean,

and Bua Farang, with connected boardwalks

for visitors to closely admire their flowers.

2. Specimen Zone displaying 74 varieties

of water lilies in pots for a closer study.

3. Exhibition Zone at the ground floor

of the Research and Development Building

exhibiting the knowledge and background of

water lilies including the classification of water

lily varieties, water lilies in Thailand, how to grow

and take care of water lilies, diseases and pests,

breeding, farming, and uses.

The Lotus Memorial Park is open during 08.30

a.m.-04.30 p.m. on weekdays and 08.30 a.m.-

06.00 p.m. on weekends. Admission is free. For

further information, Tel. 0 4272 5000.

To get there: By car: From Amphoe Mueang

Sakon Nakhon, follow Highway No. 22 bound

for Nakhon Phanom for approximately 19

kilometres. The entrance to the Park will be on

the left, some 2 kilometres beyond the entrance

to Kasetsart University. By bus: Take the Song

Thaeo routing Sakon Nakhon-Tha Rae and get

off at the Park’s entrance.

Nong Han Viewpoint (จุดชมวิวหนองหาร)

Located at Km. 168 on Highway No. 22, the

Nakhon Phanom-Sakon Nakhon route, the

Viewpoint is approximately 2 kilometres from

the Lotus Memorial Park, Tambon Tha Rae. There

are a number of pavilions for relaxation by the

lake. Another 1 kilometre further along the road

is a concrete bridge spanning from the shore to

an island in the middle of the lake, which is ideal

for strolling and taking photos, especially in the

morning and at twilight. It is open daily during

06.00 a.m.-07.00 p.m., free of charge.

There are also many other viewpoints of Nong

Han Lake that are frequented by visitors and

photographers; such as, the Tawan Ron Thi Nong

Han Viewpoint at Ban Tha Rae and Ban Tha Wat

Viewpoint in Tambon Lao Po Daeng.

Ban Tha Rae Community (ชุมชนบ้านท่าแร่)

Established in 1884 and located in Tambon

Tha Rae, this is an old community with the

largest number of Roman Catholic Christians

in Thailand. Formerly, the Christians of Tha Rae

immigrated from Sakon Nakhon on the other

side of Nong Han Lake, which included both

the Vietnamese and Thai Yo (native people who

were immigrants from Hongsa District in

Sainyabuli, Lao P.D.R.) due to their being deprived

of believing in Christianity by the rulers of Sakon

Nakhon in the reign of King Rama V the Great.

So, they built a large bamboo raft with blankets

as the sails that could carry all the people and

necessary items, and prayed to Saint Michael to

lead them to a land where they could spread

out Christianity. The wind took them across

to the other side of the Nong Han Lake where

the ground was covered with laterite called

“Hin Hae”. They settled there and called their

community “Tha Hae”, which later became

“Tha Rae” until now.

The plan of the Ban Tha Rae community is like

a checkerboard, similar to that in Western

countries, with beautiful buildings in the

French-style architecture along both sides

of its main road. The community is also the

location of the St. Michael’s Cathedral, which

features a large boat-shaped church built in

memory to how the villagers emigrated from

Sakon Nakhon provincial town to settle at

Ban Tha Rae. During 23-25 December of every

year, the Christian community of Ban Tha Rae

will hold the Christmas Star Parade based on a

belief that the star symbolises the birth of Jesus

on Earth. There are a lot of activities to enjoy

throughout the event. For enquiries, please

contact the Archdiocese of Tharae-Nongsaeng,

Tel. 0 4271 1272.

To get there: From Amphoe Mueang Sakon

Nakhon, take Highway NO. 22 (Sakon NakhonNakhon Phanom) 

for approximately 21 kilometres

to Ban Tha Rae Community.

Phra That Narai Cheng Weng Stupa

(ปราสาทพระธาตุนารายณ์เจงเวง)

Located in Wat Phra That Narai Cheng Weng,

Ban That, the lone stupa is built from sandstone

on laterite base and carved beautifully. Its lintel

feature Lord Krisna killing Lion in Bapuan Khmer

art. The Art appears on this stupa is quite similar

to many Khmer ruins found in Isan. Stone

Carving on door arch and window remain

very clear. Legend says this stupa was built by

women, who competed with the men group

that built Phra That Phu Phek. According to its

design and art, it is assumed to be from 11-12th

century. Annual celebration of Phra That Narai

Cheng Weng is held from 11th-15th date of

waxing moon in March.

To get there: From Amphoe Mueang Sakon

Nakhon, take Highway NO. 22 (Sakon NakhonUdon Thani).

 Turn left at the intersection and

take Hihgway NO. 241 towards Kalasin province

for approximately 500 metres. Turn left to a

local road and continue on to reach Wat Phra

That Narai Cheng Weng. A total distance of 6

kilometres from downtown Sakon Nakhon.

Phrathat Dum (พระธาตุดุม)

Located at Wat Phrathat Dum, Ban That Dum,

Tambon Ngio Don. There were originally three

brick-built prang towers standing on the same

laterite base facing to the East. There is a trace

of an encircling moat in the North and the

South. Nowadays, only one stand-alone prang

has remained. Presumably, it was built in the

same period as Phrathat Narai Cheng Weng,

but smaller. There are lintels found on the four

directions of the sanctuary. The one in the

north is the only lintel left at the sanctuary and

features a deity riding his mount above the Kala

(a monster head) decorated with other animals

like elephant, lion, and a scrolling foliage

design. It is the Khmer art in a Baphuon style

dating back to the 11-12th century.

To get there: From Amphoe Mueang Sakon

Nakhon, take Sukkasem Road and Ku Mueang

Road until reaching the Government Housing

Bank intersection. Turn right and continue on

to another intersection. Turn left go to Ban Dum

and go straight on to the end of the road to Wat

Phrathat Dum. A total distance of 5 kilometres

from downtown Sakon Nakhon.

Phu Phan Royal Development Study

Centre (ศูนย์ศึกษาการพัฒนาภูพาน อันเนื่องมาจาก

พระราชดำริ)

Located at Ban Na Nok Khao, Tambon Huai

Yang, was established to be the northeastern

centre for study, research, and development

on every aspect of agriculture. The Centre is

like a live natural museum where people can

come to study and take knowledge to apply

for their occupations. It features an exhibition

of the royally-initiated projects, and a livestock

farm of the “Three Black Wonders of Phu Phan”:

Tajima cattle, Phu Phan pig, and Phu Phan black

chicken. In addition, there is a mushroom farm,

sericulture farm, turkey farm, dairy cattle, Javan

Rusa, fish farm in floating baskets, a demonstrative

rice plantation, mini zoo for children, and decorative

flower garden. Herbal products and agricultural

processed products are available for sale.

The Centre is open daily during 08.30 a.m.-04.30

p.m. Admission is free. For a group visit with a

guide, a letter must be sent in advance. There is a

tram service to tour around the Centre available

at 300 Baht for a 15-20 seater tram. For more

information, Tel. 0 4274 7458-9 or visit www.

royal.rid.go.th/phuphan.

To get there: From Amphoe Mueang Sakon

Nakhon, take Highway No. 213 (Sakon Nakhon

- Kalasin). Turn left to Rural Highway NO. 3035

and go straight ahead for 2 kilometres to Phu

Phan Royal Development Study Centre. A total

distance of 16 kilometres from downtown

Sakon Nakhon.

Phu Phan Ratchaniwet Palace (พระตำหนัก

ภูพานราชนิเวศน์)

Located on the mid of Phu Phan Mountain

Range, the palace is the royal residence of His

Majesty the King Bhumibol Adulyadej (Rama

IX), Her Majesty the Queen and royal family

during the mission in Northeast Thailand. The

mansion is located amidst shady forest and

beautiful garden.

The Palace is open to the general public (well

dressed and composed) daily during 08.00

a.m.-04.00 p.m. Admission is free. For more

information, Tel. 0 4271 1550.

To get there: From Amphoe Mueang Sakon

Nakhon, take Highway No. 213 towards Kalasin

province for approximately 13 kilometres. The

entrance of Phu Phan Ratchaniwet Palace will

be on the right.

Phu Phan National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติภูพาน)

The park acquires total area of 664.70 square

kilometres. in Amphoe Mueang, Phanna

Nikhom, Kut Bak and Phu Phan of Sakhon

Nakhon as well as Amphoe Somdet and Huai

Phueng of Kalasin. The park’s official is located

on Phu Phan Range. Established on October 29,

1982, the park features limestone mountain

and different forest such as deciduous

dipterocarp forest, jungle rain forest, or mixed

deciduous forest. Wildlife found in the park

include langur, civet, and slow loris. 

See Details...
https://goo.gl/maps/6xwxTnar9DPXKUKS9

Cr. ข้อมูลจากการท่องเที่ยวแห่งประเทศไทย


*** Remarks : Give us your feedback - Where to Go & What to Do in Thailand


© 2021
tripthaigoal.com
All Rights Reserved.